doin’ work…

Image

                       Jesse of 1of1 Customs painting one of the walls.
Image

Rasta of 1of1 Customs working on one of the walls at the girls facility.

Image

I’m just trying to stay within the lines!

Tonight, my friends Jesse and Rasta of 1of1 Customs and I went out to a residential rehabilitation facility for teen offenders. It’s always great to spend time with these particular youth to encourage them and to remind them that where they are now is only a pitstop. Naturally, their day to day consists of a pretty strict regimen, where order is mandatory and while the staff cares for them, they must maintain the role of disciplinarian. It feels good to be able to come in and encourage them to just be… kids. Laugh, dance, paint, ask questions… ask me what my hair looked like before I cut it… if I know how to do the latest dance…show Rasta and Jesse their own artwork, impress us with their own unique talents and gifts… We come in to love up on ’em just a little bit, knowing that one of these days they’ll be right back out there in this crazy….CRAZY world. All we can do is hope to speak a word of encouragement and inspiration that may stick with them once they leave the confines of the facility.

It’s a blessing to be able to connect with them…and to be able to relate to them. I go out, hoping to inspire at least one but I ALWAYS leave inspired by them all. I hope that my journey presents countless opportunities to do this work because ultimately, this is what I’m supposed to be doing…

Its bigger than hip hop.. hip hop…hip hop….

peace.

ya girl,

~dy

Learn more about Jesse and Rasta’s work at http://www.1of1customs.com.

Feel free to share your thoughts with me.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

